The High Cost of Victory & Other Tales of the Secession Wars

Add to Cart


Categories: Science Fiction
Publisher: Renaissance E Books/PageTurner | Date published: 09/09/2005

Description


"Fans of Star Wars, Star Trek, and Stargate Will Love Matt Kirkby's Work!" says Jean Marie Stine, former personal assistant to Gene Roddenberry. From the author of the bestselling novel of military sf, The Price to Be Paid: A Novel of the Stellar Republic, comes a new saga set thousands of years later, when the Republic has become decadent. The government has lost touch with its citizens and corruption has spread throughout its bloated bureaucracy. Now the Republic is torn by the call of rebellion. Entire sectors threaten to secede and planetary rulers, military officers, and ordinary citizens alike are caught in the pull of events beyond their control. The Secession Wars are about to begin. Here are thirty-six novelettes, short stories and vignettes torn from the pages of this troubled period in future history. In them, Matt Kirkby paints a vivid, unforgettable human picture of what happens when a great republic loses its way and the disintegration begins.