Once Bitten [Kita Nekai Series Book 1]

Add to Cart

Categories: Dark Fantasy/Fantasy
Publisher: BelleBooks/Bell Bridge Books | Date published: 01/16/2009


Back cover: Kita Nekai, on the run and the smallest of her shifter clan--a calico cat among lions and tigers--is being hunted. She was expected to accept her role as her father's successor whether or not her cat was up to the task of leading the clan. She disagreed. Now she's less than a step ahead of the hunters, bone-tired, cold, and living hand-to-mouth in the city of Haven. And that's the high point of her day. She's also drugged, "accidentally" turned into a vampire, and sentenced to death for recklessly creating a rogue shifter who tortures its human prey. She's got seventy-two hours to find the rogue, evade a city full of hunters, prove she's not responsible for the rogue, and keep the vampire council from killing her. All while sorting out an apprentice mage, a married ex-boyfriend shifter-hunter, and the vampire who made her. Dead cats don't cry. Kita Nekai finds that out the hard way. For the past five years, Kita, a shapeshifter, has faded into the background of the human world, but when a rogue shifter begins littering the city of Haven with bodies, Kita becomes a suspect. Hunters are after her. She barely avoids being plucked off the street, and owes the near miss to the fact her second form is a five pound kitten--an unexpected size considering she's descended from lions and tigers. As the night wears on and she is unable to skip town, her luck runs out and she is forced into a confrontation she can't win. Rescue arrives in the form of vampire Nathanial Deaton, and Kita soon wishes it hadn't. Nathanial accidentally turns her into a vampire like himself, robbing her of the ability to shape-shift. Kita thinks her life has hit rock-bottom, but then a vigilante underworld magistrate accuses her of creating and setting loose the murderous rogue who is tormenting the city. To avoid an instant death sentence and to clear her name, Kita and Nathanial agree to hunt down and deliver the rogue.

Also Available from Kalayna Price

Kalayna Price's Kita Nekai Series
1.Twice Dead [Kita Nekai Series Book 2]